For Dentists

Specialists' Branch

The Role of the Specialists' Branch

The Specialists' Branch supports specialists in Paediatric Dentistry, whether working in the hospital or primary care setting. It ensures that individuals and agencies, both government and private, are given the relevant information in order to include specialist paediatric care in their decision making processes.

The Specialists' Branch is open to all members of the BSPD whose names appear in the Specialist List in Paediatric Dentistry held by the General Dental Council. There are currently approximately 200 members in the Branch.

Further details about the requirements for entry on the Specialist list can be found in the 'Registration' section of the General Dental Council's website.

Further details about the role of the Specialist in Paediatric Dentistry are given in the Consultants and Specialists in Paediatric Dentistry publication.


2016 Study Day, AGM and Specialist Forum 

Thursday 1st December 2016  9.00am-4.00pm

British Orthodontic Society,  12 Bridewell Place, London, EC4V 6AP

The programme will include:

Safeguarding Children and Adolescents                             


Professor Barbara Chadwick, Professor in Paediatric Dentistry, Cardiff University and

Dr. Joanna Begent, Named Doctor for Child Safeguarding, University College London Hospital

The Role of Play Specialists in Paediatric Dentistry                                                                                            


Krissy Paxton, Play Specialist, Eastman Dental Hospital

Paediatric Oral Medicine.                                                                               


Dr. Adele Johnson, Consultant in Paediatric Dentistry Eastman Dental Hospital and

Dr. Tim Hodgson, Consultant in Oral Medicine, Eastman Dental Hospital

Enquiries to

The committee meets at least twice a year to discuss issues of relevance to the specialty. It has active links with the Policy & Clinical Effectiveness Committee (PCEC), the Teachers' Branch, the SAC and BSPD Council.

Future Meetings


Specialists' Branch AGM

This year's AGM will be part of the 2016 Study Day.


The Specialist Branch wishes to become a strong representative body which provides input into BSPD Council, the Clinical Effectiveness Committee and the SAC. With this in mind the Branch needs to recruit new Committee members who are willing to be nominated as Council Representative and for the PCEC - both for a five year term. A Chairperson elect is also needed. The Chairperson remains in office for two years and then continues on the Committee for a further year as Immediate Past Chair. New Committee members are also needed to represent Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

If you are willing to stand for any of these positions please download one of the forms below and return to:
BSPD, 12 Bridewell Place, London EC4V 6AP. If you require more information please email Sarah Davies at

Nomination form - Specialist Practitioners Liaison Group (SPLG)
Nomination form - PCEC
Nomination form - Chairperson elect

Useful links:

General Dental Council

Department of Health

Committee members
Chairperson: Dr Sue Kidd
Secretary: Dr David Auld
Chairperson Elect: Dr Jayne Owen
Treasurer: Dr Andrea Aspinall
Council Representative: Dr Siobhan McGrath
PCEC & Consultants' Group Representative: Dr Andrea Aspinall / Dr David Auld
SAC Representative: Dr Helen Tatham
Past Chairperson: Dr Clare Ledingham
Committee members: Dr Sarah Davies

Dr Julie Kelly


David Auld, Secretary