For Dentists

Midlands Branch

At present, the Branch meetings are held biannually . These are held jointly with the West Midlands Postgraduate Section 63 and are free to members of the BSPD, Primary Care Trust contract holders, the Community Dental Service, Personal Dental Service dentists or Professions Complimentary to Dentistry. There is a charge of £5.00 per session to non-contract holders.

Each meeting is eligible for verifiable CPD.

Midlands Branch is pleased to announce the following Bursaries.

Midlands branch Bursary for the BSPD scientific conference: Dental Care Professionals

BSPD Midlands branch are granting three bursaries for the attendance to the BSPD annual conference* for one day and membership to the British Society of Paediatric dentistry for the remainder of the calendar year.

*the bursary will cover a one-day attendance to the BSPD conference and travel expenses to the maximum total of £300 (inclusive of conference fee).

Opening Date:  09/01/2017

Closing Date: 01/05/2017

Please see downloads section for Applicant Guidance and Application Form.

Midlands Branch Bursary for the BSPD Conference: DCPs and Dentists submitting an abstract

BSPD Midlands Branch is granting a bursary for the attendance to the BSPD annual scientific conference.

Those eligible to apply for the BSPD Midlands Branch bursary must:

·         Be  registered with the GDC as a Dentist or Dental Care Professional

·         Be a BSPD Midlands branch member

·         To be able to evidence submission and acceptance of their abstract to the commencing BSPD scientific conference

Opening Date:  09/01/2017

Closing Date: 01/05/2017

Please see downloads section for Applicant Guidance and Application Form.

Any queries please contact the Branch secretary Tanika Gohil

Regular committee meetings are held at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry, 5 Mill Pool Way, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B5 7EG.

Useful Links

West Midlands Postgraduate Deanery

Birmingham Dental School


12 May 2017 - Pick and Mix - an update on the management of mixed dentition problems.

Presidential lecture - Rosemary Bryan

Branch Study Day on 23 May 2017. 



Committee members
Chairperson: Dr Alison James
Past Chairperson: Mrs Sarah McKaig
Chairperson elect:
Secretary: Dr Tanika Gohil
Treasurer: Dr Daniel Sisson
Council Representative: Dr Abdullah Casaus
Committee Members: Miss Catriona Brown
Dr Victoria Clark
Dr Sheridan McDonald
Dr Shan Ghandhi


Tanika Gohil & Charlotte Danby-Jones Branch Secretaries


Midlands branch Bursary DCPs Application Form.docx

BSPD Midlands Branch Bursary Dentists DCPs Application form.docx

Midlands Branch Bursary DentistsDCPs Applicant Guidance.docx

Midlands branch Bursary for DCPs Applicant Guidance.docx